yizkor.

January 4, 2009

my dad called me today with some bad news. he told me that my grandad is dying.

of course, i’ve known this for quite a while. but it really looks like the end is near.

i’ve never gone to a funeral. i’ve never really understood what death means to a lot of people. maybe that’s due to my critical way of looking at the world, but in any case, i’m not sure how to feel about this.

i feel really, really bad about a lot of things. i feel guilty that i don’t live in toronto – although this is not really my fault. i wish i could somehow make things right for everyone, especially my grandmum. but that’s not how life works.

we’ll see how this journey progresses…both for me, and for the rest of my family.

3 Responses to “yizkor.”

  1. Melissa Phillips Says:

    randomly found your blog. sorry to hear about your grandad. I will pray for him and your family. I came to bc once on a cruise. It was nice. I live in ky. I also have a facebook and myspace if you want to be added as one of my friends on those. do you ever travel this way? I hope life treats you well in the future. Don’t be so hard on yourself, God doesn’t want you to feel guilty. There are people out hear that cares.

  2. Melissa Phillips Says:

    here…sorry. ky language lol

  3. Charles Says:

    Hug. My family had a rash of funerals a few years ago and we saw each other every few months because another one would pass away. It never got any easier.


Leave a Reply

